Shopping with The Vintage Traveler

It’s been a spectacular fall here in the mountains of Western North Carolina. For those of you who do not live in an area known for the autumn colors, the truth is, not all falls are created equal. In spite of what the tourist bureaus want potential visitors to think, some years the leaf turn is downright dull. Not so this year. Consequently, we have been on the roads to small towns, enjoying a sight that never gets old.

Breaks are taken at small breweries, museums, and antique stores. I’ll pass on the beer photos, and I will highlight one of the history museums in another post. Today is all about the stuff I liked in antique stores, but didn’t buy.

I just can’t resist an Enid Collins box handbag. After years of looking at them (and owning a few) I am always amazed to see one that is new to me. By the way, Enid’s son Jeep has published a book about the family owned business, Enid : From Small Town Texas to 5th Avenue New York. the Story of Enid Collins and Her Beloved Box Handbags.

Here’s an object seldom seen here in the mountains. It’s not a paddle to stir a vat of apple butter.

It’s a cricket bat!

I am so attracted to a tin of vintage buttons, but I never have the energy to plow through it. There has to be a better way to display these.

This old store display ticked a few boxes – shoes, dogs, and cute. But where would I put the thing?

I loved this antique embroidered picture so much. I left it for someone who needed it more than I.

I’m still in the market for vintage Scottie items. The fact that I left this one behind proves that I now know that I do not have to have all the dogs.

For years there was a business – part factory, part workshop – where Eastern Cherokee people were employed to make crafts for the tourist trade. I’m not even sure if the business is still in operation, but for years they assembled “Indian” themed toys such as tomahawks, headdresses, and drums, and also moccasins made from suede and beads. Today the tourist has a choice of similar items made in China or authentic Cherokee items such as pottery and baskets.

Why is it that great antique skates seldom have the leather straps? Okay, I know the answer, but I really wish these had been complete.

I almost bought this tennis racket and carrying case, but the racket was trashed and did not seem to be of the same era of the case.

I am not a lover of dolls, and wasn’t even as a child. But these 1920s boudoir dolls were great, in a creepy sort of way.

I love this early 30s hat so much. If I were a wearer of vintage hats, I would have bought it.

This girl and boy were display hangers for Halloween costumes.

And finally, here’s one I sort of regret leaving behind. His eyes are everything!

Items seen in the vintage bazars of Dillard, GA, Hiwassee, GA, Franklin, NC, Mount Airy, NC, and Liberty, NC.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Shopping with The Vintage Traveler

  1. jacq.staubss@yahoo.com

    You’re so nice to wake up too! Always enjoy these. Miss the excursions up in Maryland on these beautiful autum days. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Its a rather small cricket bat, I think. Perhaps for little boys? I too love the hat, and I would wear it, I love to wear hats!
    bonnie in provence

    Like

  3. Deb Chowney

    That cricket bat is from Hampshire, England and more precisely Aldershot, the County I live in! Some info on an object far from home.
    http://www.seanarnoldantiques.co.uk/j%20salter%20and%20sons.html

    Like

  4. thetactfultypist

    Today I felt like I was travelling along with you!
    I find it especially interesting discovering what one decides not to buy and why.

    You live in an area filled with remarkable things!

    Like

  5. Oh how this makes me want to visit North Carolina in the fall and mooch around antiques malls. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • The autumn colours here in Quebec have been spectacular too.
      I love seeing your choices. The hat I could not have resisted if it fit. The Halloween hangars were interesting. It certainly felt good to be out and about this season and able to admire nature’s beauty!

      Like

  6. “Window” shopping with you is such fun! What frustrates me about storing buttons (old or new) is that when they’re stored in a jar or other container you have to dump them all out to find what you want.

    Like

    • I use one of those cases with little drawers (designed for nuts and bolts and screws and such) and have separated the buttons according to how many matching ones I have. Not perfect, but it does save a lot of time when looking for matches.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.