Sea-crets by Cole of California

This brochure for the Cole of California saleswoman is not dated, but the styles are about 1956. I’m sure there are people out there who will recognize one of the styles and who can tell me the exact year. Or maybe I’ll get ambitious and look through my mid 1950s fashion magazines for the answer.

“Picture the lady on the beach. Recognize the lady’s figure.” It’s interesting that women’s figures are laid out as problems to be solved. Let’s hope that the saleswomen were wise enough to suggest styles without pointing out the problems to the customer. No wonder so many women have fitting room anxiety.

“Sales are made in the fitting room, not over the counter.” I’d never thought of this, but it is absolutely true. And not stated, but also true is that sales are lost in the fitting room as well.

Women get so many mixed messages when it comes to what one can or can’t wear. Or should or shouldn’t. I appreciate the feminism behind the “wear anything you want” message, but most of us have seen ourselves in the mirror enough to know that some clothes are going to make us happy, and others simply will not work. It really has more to do with our own sense of what works on our bodies, and what makes us feel silly or dumpy or just plain sad. I try to think that I make my own clothing rules, but the fact is, the rule that says ruffles look silly on a short woman rings very true.

By the 1950s swimsuit makers had figured out that it’s necessary to accessorize that swimsuit. I’m always happy to find matching pieces for the swimsuits in my collection. I’m wishing more saleswomen had taken the “sell a matching piece” advice more seriously.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Sea-crets by Cole of California

  1. This pamphlet is very interesting, but that final image with the pointy hat and chevron striped cover-up made me lose faith in the advice! Also, since my former profession often included making people look attractive on stage, the illustration suggesting horizontal drapery around the hips of the “heavy” figure was really bad advice. However, the most flattering swimsuit I ever owned was my black Cole of California school uniform swimsuit! With the lowest back on the beach (1958 to 1962,) and diagonal drapery over the well-supported bust, it always got male attention when worn in public. Definitely not what the nuns who chose it had in mind!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jacq.staubss@yahoo.com

    Fashion GOLD!!!!!!! Can’t get enough! I plan to spend the morning devouring this! I was 6 yers old when this was published. I only wish when i was a working fashion director in merchandising Cole and other American standards fashion houses would have shared these .TREASURES! Thank you so much Lizzie O,

    Like

  3. tripichick

    i own three outfits i can wear outside our hovel ~~ one conservative pantsuit for rare medical visits, two decent tshirts and slacks for a movie or concert {Bonnie Raitt next, in october. struct benthamite utilitarian.

    Like

  4. What a fun find. Thanks for sharing. I agree that the brochure is from the mid-fifties. I was able to find a suit that looks similar from the May 1956 edition of Charm magazine (I am lucky enough to have a large collection of mid-century magazines). Unfortunately, it isn’t a “Sea-cret”, but it is from Cole with a sweetheart neckline and pockets. What a great look.

    Like

  5. Catherine

    As a former retailer I can affirm that sales are made in the fitting room. Asking questions of the customer about what they thought were their best attributes was key. But if someone had a lovely decolletage I certainly pointed it out and to items that would enhance that.

    I worked in women’s sportswear, ready-to-wear, active wear, juniors, menswear (a completely different animal so to speak) and lingerie. Women hate shopping for brassieres. It’s a slog. You can just buy them to try at home but it never works and return them or you keep them and just live with an incorrect fit. It’s best to try them on. In the store.
    I remember one young lady that insisted on Bali bras. Though the customer is always right, I knew that based on her shape, Bali wasn’t going to work. After a couple of Bali fails I was able to persuade her to try something different. Eureka! They fit! Nicely! Why? I knew what manufacturers did for a particular breast shape. I asked her why she had insisted on Bali — she said it’s because its what her mother wore. Her mother was a shapely, full busted woman whereas her daughter had more of an athletic build so Bali was just all wrong.

    I do remember having swimsuit presentations with various vendors on fit and stylings, but no visuals to go along like what you are showing. That would have been helpful for my customers! This was in the mid 1970s to mid 1980s. It probably got too expensive to produce them. Shame.

    I enjoy your blog!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.