Currently Reading: HerStoria Magazine

I discovered this great magazine of women’s history, HerStoria, two years ago when they contacted me about using some of my images with an article they were running on the history of women’s golf and how it was affected by the clothing women wore to play the game.  Needless to say, this was right down my alley.  They even did a feature about my website.

After two years of meaning to subscribe, I finally treated myself for my birthday last month and did it, and I also ordered all the back issues.  Now I have a classic case of “Why did I not do this sooner?” because I now have enough reading material to keep me happy for months.

And that is what separates this magazine (and other independently published ones) from mainstream magazines.  I can pick up an issue of Bazaar, or Lucky or Southern Living and I’m finished with it in about an hour. HerStoria has to be read and savored.  Not all the articles are about fashion, but many of them are, or have fashion history elements inherent in the story.  It’s a fun, thought-provoking read.

I really have grown to love small, independently published magazines.  Besides Herstoria my favorites are Worn Fashion Journal and Selvedge. I also like FiberArts and Piecework, which are both published by Interweave, but not enough to subscribe to either.  There are times when I think they should combine the two into one really great magazine.

Here is a small taste of the types of things found in Herstoria.

4 Comments

Filed under Currently Reading

4 responses to “Currently Reading: HerStoria Magazine

  1. This looks great!!!! I definitely have to check it out. I’m reading Glamour by Carol Dyhouse right now, so this seems like the type of magazine I’d dig too.

    Like

  2. Would love to subscribe to this magazine. It looks great! I have never subscribed to anything from overseas (just bought a Persephone book, however). Since I would prefer the print version, how do I go about it and do the offer it to US customers? Also, thank you for such a marvelous blog.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Women behind the Wire – The Will to Survive | Amsterdam Oriole

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.