Vintage Miscellany – December 15, 2013

The year: 1933.  The place: Buppert Estate.  The women: Who knows?

I wonder who had the thought, “Let’s go out in the snow that is up to our shins wearing our skirts and pose with snowballs.”  I really hope I never have thoughts like that!

*   The New York Historical Society will be exhibiting Bill Cunningham’s Facades photographs.  Taken between 1968 and 1975, Bill used friends dressed in historical clothing found in flea markets and thrift stores and photographed them around the city.   March 14, 2014 through June 15, 2014.

*   Biba founder Barbara Hulanicki was interviewed for BBC Radio.  Don’t cry when she tells how they threw out all the Biba patterns and samples. Thanks to Rubyfoot for the link.

*   The Chinese trademark office has cancelled protection of Burberry’s trademark Nova Check.  Burberry is protesting.  The plaid was first used by Burberry in 1920.

*   The Met is gearing up for the Charles James exhibition.  Here’s a close look at one of the garments.

*   Michelle at All Ways in Fashion wrote a most interesting three part series on her career at Glamour magazine starting in the 1960s.  One Two Three

*   Are people willing to pay more for “Made in the USA?”

*   Remember alpaca sweaters?  There is a movement underway to bring back alpaca as a luxury fiber.

*  Vivienne Westwood has been working with a biographer on her life story.  This promises to be interesting!  Thanks to Joyatri for the link.

*   Here’s a great new fashion history blog to bookmark:  Witness2fashion.  It’s written by Susan, who is a regular poster here.

16 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

16 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – December 15, 2013

  1. Christina

    By coincidence I am listening right now to the BBC’s Desert Island Discs radio programme. I am a huge fan of this British institution. I am listening to another interview but I will catch the Barbara Hulanicki show soon. It is curious as to why designers destroy history. It’s almost like they don’t have a perspective. I presume part of the reason is the fear of patterns getting into the wrong hands. Still, the BIBA legacy lives on.

    Like

  2. I’m going to have to keep my eye out for that Westwood biography!

    Like

  3. That Made in the US story was very interesting, and enlightening. Especially the bit about how many people actually check labels! I have YET to talk to anyone who actually does that!

    Like

    • I think people are beginning to check labels. I know that 4 years ago I was not much of a label-checker, but now I am very aware of the original of all things we buy. Some things you have to buy imported because they are no longer made here, but usually there are choices where one is better than others.

      Like

  4. Thanks for mentioning my new-born blog. I found that some images disappeared overnight, so I have resized them and hope they will stay where I put them in the future.
    I love reading the articles and comments on The Vintage Traveler; it’s inspiring to know that there are so many of us trying to pass on some of our love of vintage fashions and fashion history. In gratitude, I just dedicated a post on a 1940 ski suit to you — thanks again!

    Like

  5. That’s what I did when I was young. Even trudged through the snow in high heels, as I always always had to look good. Lol

    Like

  6. That made in USA article was depressing. Andy was the first person I met who tried to buy made in the USA products; when I moved here 15 years ago, I thought it was funny that he was always on a quest to find made in USA underwear. (All the rest of his clothes, except socks, were vintage/thrifted.) I no longer find it funny. My personal thing is not so much that an item be made in the USA, but that it be high quality, and not come from a place where workers are known to be underpaid and poorly treated. We are not the $100,000+ wealthy people that NYT article mentioned who do spend money on made in the US, but we still read those labels and try to buy wisely. (We just spent more to buy Pickles made in the USA dog chews, rather than made in China.)

    Thanks, as always, for the great reading material, Lizzie!

    Like

  7. Liz

    I saw a show on a South Carolina alpaca farm. Interesting animals. Turns out, most of the Carolina alpaca farmers are in North Carolina. http://carolinaalpacafarms.org/?cat=4

    Like

  8. Thanks again for so many interesting links. I heard that Barbara Hulanicki interview when I was on holiday in Barcelona and did cringe when she talked about throwing out all the Biba patterns.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.