1910s – 1920 Wool Gym Suit

I started adding gym suits to my collection purely by accident.  Ten years or so ago I was trading some things with my favorite vintage shop when the owner pulled out a 1940s gym suit and insisted that I take it. I was a bit reluctant as I was trying to limit the focus of my acquiring.  I now realize she knew me better than I knew myself.

Since then I’ve actively searched for gym suits, and now have sixteen in my collection dating from circa 1870 through the 1950s.  Considering how women claim to have detested their gym suits, it is surprising how many survive. I’m pretty sure my 1970s version was destroyed decades ago!

I found my latest gym suit at the Liberty Antiques Festival back in April. I almost missed it, as it was folded in a stack of old linens. But something about the black serge caught my eye as I passed by.  The lesson is, of course, to always look through unpromising stacks of linens.

I estimate this one to date from 1915 through 1920.  The photo above is from an Aldrich & Aldrich catalog showing a 1920 gym suit from their inventory.  Mine is a different company, E.R. Moore, but the styling is very similar, with the loose belt that contains the wide pleats that fall from a yoke at the shoulders.

E.R. Moore was founded in 1907, and made not only gym suits, but also academic gowns for graduations and other ceremonies. As far as I can tell, the gym suit production ended several decades ago, but gowns continued to be made at least until 2005. The year before there was a big kerfuffle at Harvard when it rained at graduation and the dye from the gowns ruined graduates’ clothing. The factory building is now loft apartments.

 

One thing I especially love about this suit is that I know the name of the original owner.  Not only is Virginia Hooper’s name sewn into the suit, but a note was attached as well.

I have not been able to identify Ms. Hooper, but the suit came from a consolidation estate company in Indian Trail, NC, which is in the Charlotte area. Along with the gym suit and linens, several boxes of high quality fabrics came from the estate. (And yes, I bought some of them as well.)

 

After looking at the Aldrich catalog, I’m thinking I should have photographed the belt buttoning at the back.

Without the belt you can see how roomy this gym suit is.  No need for a corset here.

In my quest for more information about this particular suit, I turned to When the Girls Came Out to Play, by Patricia Campbell Warner, and I was rewarded with some nice details about this style of gym suit.  It was designed around 1910 by Florence Bolton at Stanford University, and was based on the English gym slip, but with bloomers at the bottom. It was designed to be worn with a cotton blouse beneath. Practical though it was, this design proved to be unpopular as it was too far from mainstream fashion. Warner points out, however, that before long, most women’s fashions had a similar silhouette. Once again we see the influence of sports attire.

13 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Proper Clothing, Vintage Clothing, Winter Sports

13 responses to “1910s – 1920 Wool Gym Suit

  1. Fabulous research, as always! Even in an internet photo, it looks scratchy to me. And were they black to avoid showing dirt?

    Like

  2. looks like a school uniform! itchy!

    Like

  3. No happy memories of gym suits from my era… ugly and baggy, but not scratchy, thank goodness.

    Like

  4. i still have my HS gym “blue bloomers” with my name hand embroidered in white floss– last on the back, first on the front pocket. I didn’t mind them because they were actually kind of comfortable, and being made of cotton, not scratchy. But t-shirts and gym shorts like the boys wore would have been better.

    Like

  5. E. R. Moore made caps and gowns. The building has been converted to residential lofts. http://1800gracelofts.com/history/

    Like

    • P.S. My high school gymsuit was an all-cotton onesie. Better forgotten than treasured. My sister is two years younger and hers was made out of a poly-cotton blend. Miracle fabrics of the 70’s!

      Like

  6. Claritza

    The 4th word on the note looks like “Goucher,” referring to the private liberal arts college in Towson, Maryland. It was a women’s college until admitting men in 1986. Its alumnae/i association may be able to identify Virginia (and the gumsuit).

    Like

  7. Christina

    When was the square neckline introduced as part of the gym suit design. Is it seen before 1920? I don’t have a reference.

    Like

  8. Pingback: 1920s Gingham Romper | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.