More of an Old Favorite Novelty Print

I first posted this little vintage Paris themed change purse last year after I received it from Joules Vintage.  I was just taken by the cute print, but it was such a tiny scrap that it left me wanting more.

I was delighted to stumble across another piece last month.  This little photo album came from an etsy seller in France, The Hope Tree.  I had suspected that the print was European in origin, and while I love being right, it does make it a bit more unlikely that I’ll round up more examples.  Maybe an extended flea marketing trip to France would be in order??…

Now I can say I have more, but I’m not satisfied.  There is quite a bit more of the print on the album, but it is still not a complete repeat of the print.  I’m still missing the girl hitch-hiker’s head, and an intriguing red car is barely visible at the top, and this one does not even have the two gents on the green checked scooter.  So the hunt continues.

Does anyone know who the maker might be – KEK?

As I said, I found this on etsy, which is in itself a bit of a miracle.  I’m always amazed whenever I actually find something I want at etsy, not because there aren’t any great sellers or interesting stuff there, but because the method of finding things is so convoluted.   The lack of usable categories and the silly tagging system make it an exercise in randomness.  And perhaps that is part of the appeal – it’s more like wandering through a flea market than it is like traditional on-line shopping.  Personally, I’d like a bit more structure and a bit less of the pseudo-social trappings.

But let’s not turn this into a rant against etsy.  I do shop there when I have some time on my hands.  And I really like the creative ways some sellers present their wares (But NOT sellers who turn sewing patterns sideways.  What’s with that?)  And then when a little package arrives from France, all dolled up with a blue ribbon and a Tri-colore Moo card, and vintage photos of Paris to boot!  How can one complain about that?

6 Comments

Filed under Curiosities, Novelty Prints, Viewpoint

6 responses to “More of an Old Favorite Novelty Print

  1. How interesting. You sound like me. I love to solve mysteries about vintage. I love the print.
    If I find a sugar bowl or something I always have to find the matching creamer. What makes vintage fun.

    Like

  2. Sandy, you are so right. It is all about the hunt.

    The seller says she has seen this print in other items (a baby bottle cover!) and so will be on the look-out for more for me!

    Like

  3. i think i’ve not been on etsy long enuf to know about those quirks. i discovered the geekery category only recently! perhaps i’ll never know cos i really don’t have the patience.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Groovy 1960s Travel Album | The Vintage Traveler

  5. Pingback: My New Favorite from KEK | The Vintage Traveler

  6. Pingback: New Twist on an Old Print | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.