A Good One from the Pendleton Archives

I posted this photo of this jacket last year after I discovered its twin resides in the Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  Now it appears that Pendleton probably has one as well, and they have reproduced it for the up-coming fall and winter season.

They have only posted the one photo, but with the exception of an additional line of stitching on either side of the front opening and the type of buttons, it looks to be pretty much the same.  I am quite impressed that the stripe  is actually matched better on the new one.  Note the top of the sleeve.

According to the sales page, this is their “famous Glacier Park stripe,” and the coat is pictured in the 1930 catalog.  I’m not crazy about the neutral colors, but maybe they will offer it in red as time goes on.  And now I’ll have to spend time looking through the Pendleton site, looking for more faithful reproductions.

photo copyright Pendleton Woolen Mills

7 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Curiosities, Made in the USA, Shopping

7 responses to “A Good One from the Pendleton Archives

  1. Teresa

    Timeless design!
    I think I love the darker red of your vintage coat better too. 🙂

    Like

  2. the cheapest new car

    i love your these designs really really awesome for me 🙂

    Like

  3. I also agree – I like the vintage colors better too! 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Toboggan Coat for Fall 2012; come with us to the Pendleton archives! | Pendleton Woolen Mills

  5. Pingback: Vintage Miscellany – October 14, 2012 | The Vintage Traveler

  6. Pingback: The Vintage Traveler

  7. Pingback: 1930s Pendleton Toboggan Coat | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.